About Us

The Free State Sports Confederation (FSSC) is the controlling body of sport in the Free State province. The Free State Sports Confederation (FSSC) is herein established under the terms of SASCOC and is responsible for the oversight of transformation, development and all activities of all sports in the Free State. All Free State sport federations, local and district municipal sport councils as well as tertiary, school and disability sport bodies falls under the umbrella of the Free State Sports Confederation. It is a multi-coded sporting body responsible to unite sport in the Free State free from racial discrimination and it is none sexist in nature. It endeavors to be an organization that would cater for all sport people living in the Free State.

Sport means any form of activity or activities which require(s) a significant level of aerobic or anaerobic involvement and in which participants engage in either a structured or unstructured environment for the purpose of declaring a winner or simply for relaxation, personal enjoyment, satisfaction, physical health, emotional growth and development.

The Free State Sports Confederation geographically has control of the one metropolitan municipality (Mangaung) and four district municipalities.

  • Mangaung – Cities/Towns: Bloemfontein, Botshabelo, Dewetsdorp, Soutpan, Thaba Nchu, Van Stadensrus, Wepener.

District municipalities:

  • Fezile Dabi District – Moqhaka, Ngwathe, Metsimaholo, Mafube.
  • Lejweleputswa District – Masilonyana, Tokologo, Tswelopele, Matjhabeng, Nala.
  • Thabo Mofutsanyana District – Setsoto, Dihlabeng, Nketoana, Maluti-a-Phofung, Phumelela, Mantsopa.
  • Xhariep District – Letsemeng, Kopanong, Mohokare, Naledi.

“Sport has the power to change the world,” Mandela said. “It has the power to inspire. It has the power to unite people in a way that little else does. It speaks to youth in a language they understand.”